top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Vogue Magazine (studio research)

My chosen publication for my studio project was a Vogue magazine it fits my project due to the fact that I am looking at skate fashion. I chose this magazine as I liked the compositions they pick for the articles as well as the crazy layouts that use seen. I also like that due to be high fashion a lot of the styles are very out there and different which I may decide to play on.


Firstly although the cover of this particular issue is a painting all vogue magazines have similar font covers usually showing a portrait of somebody filling the page slightly obscuring the logo/ title. They rarely use full body shots on the cover and will shoot closer in to ensure there isn't loads of empty space either side. I will take inspiration from this particular cover due to that I like the positioning of the character sat on the chair, I also like the colour scheme and how it all works together which is something id like my project to have within it, a colour scheme.


The next image along is of the leading page of one of the articles within the magazine, I chose to look at this one due to how I feel I can use these ideas in my own project. This page is very focussed on the clothes and the movements of the subjects which are two things that also relate to skateboarding. I like that one of the subjects is actually riding a skateboard, this creates an interesting shape of the body and allows for a different range of movements within the frame. I like how simple and how much space these images had and I think that works well for a leading page to make it feel balanced and not cramped due to the amount of writing, I also think this ensures the viewer is looking at the clothes entirely and not just a part of it.


The third photo is of a double page spread, I found this page interesting due to how different it was to a usual double page spread. The page has three image across it, portrait orientated images on the left and right with a landscape orientated image in between them. I Thought this was an interesting way of showing off different styles, and angles of the subjects whilst keeping it all on one page. I like that the images don't all show a single person but show two pairs of people as well. There is a very small amount of text not he page to tell you the collection the article is part of, the title of the publication and the page number however these are small and unobtrusive.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page