top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Trevor Ray Hart - environmental portraiture (studio research)

For the environmental section of the studio project I have taken inspiration from Trevor Ray Harts project, 'growing community' a project that explores community growers in Gloucestershire. Although nothing to do with skate fashion I really liked some of the techniques and compositions that Hart used.


The first image I liked from this project shows three younger teens ands an older man holding vegetables, you can tell they are in a garden with lots of things growing due to the shrubbery and plant life in the background and foreground. Hart has used a wide-angle lens and shot wide open for this image giving it a very intimate and personal feeling. Due to having minimal space the four characters are close together which gets rid of what could be too much negative space between them and makes the image read better. The overall tone of this image is very blue and green which is seen throughout the project, I think this ties in nicely to the context as green has connotations of nature, and growth which are clearly a massive part of this project both the plants and the people. The image was taken at the eye level of the people and was taken in natural, soft light. In my project I am thinking of looking at group portraits to show a range of styles and characters and like this id like them all to be holding something relevant.

I looked at this next image due to the use of a very shallow depth of field. You see a child holding and admiring vegetable in front of his face, with an arm coming from the left and taking the vegetable. Id say the lens used was around 35mm and has shot completely wide open and gotten close in to make the background all nice, soft and out of focus. The image was shot in natural light, which is nice and warm and it makes the image feel almost like a memory. The tones in this image are green, blue, and red and I like that the background is split down the middle into two tones of green. Trevor Ray Hart has taken this photo at the Childs eye level yet has covered most of the face with the vegetable, I like this effect as it is an interesting way of portraying somebody without showing a direct portrait. I intend to cover/ partially cover the face of my subjects with skateboards.

Lastly I have looked at a more traditional portrait, I chose this one as I liked how it was solely about the character, and how the image links to the story through what she is holding. This will work well in my project where I can get my subjects to hold items they've got at the skatepark. The image is taken in natural, soft light with a standard lens, he is shooting at eye level and you see 3/4 of the lady's body and she is at a slight angle to the camera. There is a lot of headroom above this image which I'm not the biggest fan of. There is no background other than a painted wooden wall which gets rid of any distracting features and makes the image solely about the lady in front of the lens. The tones of this image are blue, green and red and overall has a very 'earthly' colour scheme, it feels natural, summery, and happy.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page