top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

'the kings of ijburg' - Sophie Ebrard (street research)

For my street project I am looking at the community of street skating in Bristol, in preparation for shooting this project I looked at Sophie Ebrards project to get inspired and give me ideas on how to show community and relationships between between people in the frame which is something I think she does extremely well. I want to include street portraits in my project to get a more personal connection with the people i'm photographing which would present itself to the viewer.


The first photo is a group portrait of four people sat on/ against a rail in front of a body of water, I like how this introduces the characters to the viewer and how ti sets the feeling, and nature of the story. The image was shot at waste level using natural light and a standard lens with a mid range aperture. The image is framed with the four people sat apart at different levels in the middle of the frame all looking at the camera, in the background you can see a large body of water with large building and trees behind it. I looked at this image as I like the idea of shooting a few group portraits of the people I meet on this project, I think this shows the viewer a lot more detail and a better example of the style, and look of the community which can be so different and diverse depending on who you look at.

I looked at this next image as it is another 'faceless' portrait which I have found interesting recently, I think Ebrard shows community in this image by showing the two people looking at something together, it builds a connection between them in the viewers mind and you can imagine a conversation between them. I like how symmetrical the image is, and is a technique i'd like to bring over into my project as it creates a well balanced and interesting to look at image. The image was shot in natural light and has a very cool tone to it, the image is exposed nicely with the sky bright but not overexposed and the shadows dark but not blacks. This adds a really natural feel, and adds contrast in that isn't overpowering or distracting form the image.


Lastly I would like to incorporate more detail orientated shots into my project, I really like this image due to still being able to see one of the group in the background. The image was shot with a standard/wide lens, id guess around 35mm. Ebrard shot with a shallow depth of field however the lens was not wide open, you can still make out the detail in the background even though it is out of focus, I like the effect this gives as it gives the viewer more information on what's going on without becoming distracting. There are strong leading lines in this image, the bridge acts as a leading line as well as the deck in the foreground. They help add a direction in the image and draws your eye from the foreground into the background.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page