top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

The Future History - Tom Quigley (research)

Tom Quigley is a talented skate lifestyle photographer that I have been following for awhile, I really like his project 'The Future History' and feel it has similar themes and vibes as how I would like my project to come out.

The image above shows a skateboarder talking to a police woman, the image is black and white and has a lot of contrast which is how my project is going to look. It is a simple composition taken with a wide lens and a low f-stop probably around f/1.8, you see the skater on the left of the frame at a 45 degree angle looking at the police woman on the right who is looking into the camera. I want to include pictures of Eve interacting with people in the public who have something to say about skating street as this is something every beginner skateboarder experience and will help tell my story. Although the officer is overexposed and out of focus I feel that the image is still clear and almost adds to the 'I don't care' nature of skateboarding.

The next image from the project that I was drawn to was a photo of a man face down in the middle of the bowl, a similar image would make a great addition to my project as skateboarding is full of slams. I think images like these are also crucial filler images in a project like mine and occurs regularly. The composition is simple, taken with a wide angle and a shallow depth of field means ur eye is drawn straight to the only point of focus in the frame.

I chose to look at this next image because of the contrast and the texture in the frame. The image shows a lady holding two skateboard decks in a skate shop stood next what appears to be a worker there. You can see lots of skateboards on the walls behind the pair as well as clothes and a computer. The two skateboards the lady is holding partially obscures the faces of both people in the frame which I feel has added an element of interest/ personality. I will use this image as inspiration for when I go for a shoot with Eve at the local skate shop and will start by replicating this.



5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page