top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Shoot 2 - st Swinthins church

The next church yard that I visited was St swinthins church, on this shoot I was looking at light, shape, and form. I feel this shoot was successful at using those themes throughout. although I planned for harsh sun light I still found I could get enough contrast out of the sun during golden hour so decided to go with these images.


the first image in the contact sheet was influenced by images from Stewart Franklins 'analogies'. the rocks in his project heavily resemble the grave stones in mine. I really like how the stones are spread and scattered across the frame seemingly with no plan. The image was shot at 35mm at a mid range aperture f5.6-8.


One of my favourite images from this shoot is the third down on the left, the frame shows the church tower and a tree next to each other protruding into the sky. I shot the image from below looking up and it created a nice form in the frame. There is a pool light on the church and the tree is a dark green which I feel with help add contrast and punch when I convert them into black and white. This was shot again with a 35mm lens around f/5.6.


The second to last image shows the church shot through the gate, this is an interesting images as the gate obscures some of the church but can clearly still see the natural land around it littered in graves. I think this image will be effective in my final selection due to being able to see both natural and man made features as well as by shooting through the gate makes me think we are trying to capture this little bit of nature for persona use.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page