top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Final Selection/ Self Evaluation

below is my final selection of images to hand in for my people and landscape project, after visiting both the locations on planned on I edited the images into black and white and got them ready to print. I resized them all to 300dpi and gave them an inch border around the edge. Overall I'm pleased with how this project turned out and feel the images I have shot fit the brief well.


The first image shows a load of gravestones scattered on a hill lit up in the sun, I chose to include this image because of how natural thew overall image despite being mainly man made objects. The image gives an old feel due to the history and age of the place but makes me think that places like this are part of the landscape now, especially in the uk.


The next image across is a shot of the entire church in the evening sun, in the foreground you can see some gravestones dotted around. I included this image because I liked the depth created with the gravestones in the foreground in the shadow and the church lit up by the sun behind, I felt this gave the image a heavenly feel like I planned on. The church is underneath a tree which links it back to the question by showing how we have not only destroyed nature to build things like this but also regrown parts of it for our own enjoyment.


The next image is a shot from below looking up at the top of a tall tree and the church tower, the combination of the light stone and the dark green of the tree created a really nice contrast and feel to the image after turning it black and white, this is exaggerated further by the pool of speckled light not he side of the tower. I included this image in the set because I really liked the strong vertical lines present yet not so obvious like in some of the other images in the set. I like how they are very similar sizes and shows that nature is also capable of building tall structures. Not only does this image have visual contrast but I like the contrast between natural and man made as well.


the image across shows three trees inside the churchyard, the trees are in the foreground and split up the frame creating lots of lines throughout. They are lit with very bright sun making the image nice and glossy with high contrast. To link this to the question you can see in the background the entrance gate to the church as well as few gravestones dotted about, I find this image interesting because of how un natural the foreground looks compared to the man made things in the background.


the fifth image/third down shows part of the church lit up by speckled light from the sun, the frame is split into two with the church on one side and the grass and trees and sky etc not he other. I did this to show a divide form natural and man made items in the frame and am pleased with how this works to show that. The light shining on the church is heavenly and religious which I like and helps soften the harshness of the divide.


Across from that is image taken in a more forgotten part of the grave yard, where nature has started to reclaim the land. The image shows a load of gravestones underneath a blossom tree which is all lit by the sun shining through a thinner path/ break in the trees. I chose to use this image in my final selection because it shows how thing that are left long enough will always eventually be taken back by nature.


The seventh image I shot walking up to the church looking through the gated entrance, I did this to give the impression that we as people were trying to section off the landscape for our own use. the images shows the church standing tall in the background with even taller trees surrounding it making it look less impressive and a lot more set into the landscape. In front of this you see grave stones scattered about which I think adds a nice amount of detail and interest to the frame. I included this because it shows how nature can be more impressive than something built a long time ago by people.


Lastly I show an image mainly looking at a shadow. the frame shows the church yard with gravestones in the foreground and the church slightly obscured in the background. The reason I chose this photo was because of how the bright sunlight had created a shadow of a cross on the grass. I found it interesting because this was created by a combination of both natural and man made forces whilst also nodding to a heavenly power. I think this image works compositionally well due to the repetition of crosses throughout.


To conclude my project depicts the human altered landscape both in harmony and aggression, showing how nature can and man made structures can become harmonious throughout time but also how powerful nature is at reclaiming the stolen landscape.


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page