top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Stewart Franklins 'Analogies' book study

Throughout this project I have looked to the book Analogies, by Stewart Franklin for inspiration. the book explores the connection we have to the landscape and how we have formed and changed the landscape.


The first image I looked at is an image titled the painted forest of Oma, the frame shows a forest on the side of the hill which all have white paint on them that slightly resemble the human form. I really like all the strong vertical lines in this image as well as the mysterious nature and feel I get from it. These are both things I will incorporate in my own project as it fits the feel of my project and I would like to play around with lots of lines and shapes in this project.

The next photo I took inspiration from within this project was an image taken at 'Cromeleque dos Almendres' and again plays around with line and shape. the picture shows two trees trunks in the foreground, splitting the frame into thirds. In the background you can see lots of oddly shaped rocks perturbing from the ground. When I first saw this I thought the stones in the background looked like grave stones and thought it could be a good image to try and recreate in my project.

I was also drawn to the image below, taken at 'Ramesseum, temple of Rameses ii'. In the frame you see a large carved rock in the centre, it appears to be missing the top half. in the background you can see the remains of an old temple in the harsh sun. What I like about this image is the contrast, I think it creates a nice amount of depth and added interest in the image. Shooting in harsh sun will always feel bright and for my project I want to use the bright UK sun to portray a heavenly or godly feel similar to this.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page