top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

studio shoot 4

The next studio shoot I went on was with the first person I photographed due to not being able to get my friend from back home to cheltenham. I wanted to test out lighting setups with a third light to improve the background exposure with the white background as well as to highlight/ draw more attention to the face when using the black background.


The first image is a half body shot, taken at eye level. I got my subject to rest the top of the skateboard on his shoulder, body facing 45degrees away from the camera with his head turned into the lens. I like this composition due to how the skateboard is equally noticeable as the the subject. I also like the highlight behind his head which draws your attention to his face, to light this image I used three lights. I had one positioned in front of my subject facing their body, the second light was on the left side of my subject filling in highlights and lighting the skateboard, and finally the third light was positioned directly behind my subject facing the background.


The second image is a similar composition however I got my subject to face the opposite direction to the previous with his body at 90degrees to the camera. I got him to turn his head to look into the lens without turning his shoulders whilst holding the skateboard just under the chin to bring it up in the frame and make it more obvious. I used the same lighting setup as the previous however I flipped the key and fill lights around. I am happy with how this image came out and I feel it shows more personality/ character than the previous, again I like the highlight behind his head however I would like it to have been a wider covered area of light.


The third photo I used a white background, I wanted to experiment with exposure to brighten the background and hide all the creases in the paper. I positioned my subject facing 45degrees to the right of the lens, I shot at eye level and got him to cover half of his face with the skateboard. Instead of getting him to turn his head into the lens I got him to look only with his eyes which I think works well for this half face, half body shot. I lit this with three lights a key, a fill, and a background to ensure there was no dark shadows across his face as well as using a background light to increase the exposure and hide some of the creases in the background.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page