top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

studio shoot 3

For my third shoot in the studio I got in contact with a friend from back home, and arranged a shoot here in cheltenham. I wanted to look at some more formal poses as well as some more experimental photos of some sort of stationary trick/ pose. I used a black background for this shoot as I preferred the way the images looked compared to with the white background.


The first image is a full body portrait, I lit this using two flashes with soft boxes at about 45degrees from either side of my subject. I for him to face towards one light and turn his head towards the camera, and then used the second light to fill in the shadows on the right hand side of his body. I shot the photo from waist level, making my subject appear taller. Im happy with how this shot came out, I'm pleased with the lighting on the subject as well as the spilled light onto the black backdrop which draws your attention to his face. I like that you can clearly see the skateboard and the clothes he is wearing which fits into my chosen theme of skate fashion.


The next photo is a closer 3/4 body shot, I lit this one with the same lighting setup but with the dominant light flipped around. I did this because I turned by subject around. again I got him to face towards the light however not so direct this time, I then got him to look into the lens to address the viewer. In order to keep the board in the image I got him to hold it slightly differently. I shot with the camera at eye level this time, and I prefer the way this renders the face and body compared to the previous image.


For the next pose I got my friend to sit on a stool with the board rested against the leg of the stool. The lighting set up was the same as the previous image and I shot from waist level to get everything in frame. I like this image due to showing off the clothes and skateboard nicely as well as the different feel you get from not addressing the camera. However I'm not pleased with how dark the bottom half of the frame is and feel I could have used a larger or a third light to fill in this area.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page