top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

studio shoot 2

For the second shoot I went on with Ethan I decided id like to experiment using the black background, I kept my lights pretty similar only using two lights apart from the first few which I tried a single light. I prefer how these images came out due to the back drop being a lot cleaner as well as how the overall look and feel of the image was lot more warm.


The first image I decided I wanted to play around with the eye balls on the bottom of the skateboard, I liked that by covering his face with the board made for an amusing image, and shows the board almost as an extension of his body/ person. I cropped in and shot in landscape orientation, using two lights to provide a nice bright image with soft shadows. Im pleased with how this came out as I like the reflections on the board as well as the shape his body and the board make in the frame. By covering his head with the board it meant that there was no longer his dark hair fading into the background, the board makes for clean sharp lines separating the subject from the background even more.


The next image I went for a similar idea however rather than fully covering the face I decided to get my subject to peek around the board, so that it was only partially covering the face. I prefer this image to the previous as it shows a lot more character as well as still showing a large part of the board. I used a light at a slight angle to my subject to light the board and right side go the face which I then balanced with a second light at a larger angle to the left which brought back the shadows making a more evenly exposed image. I shot at eye level for this image in attempt to build a connection between the viewer and the subject as well as to create a natural looking image.


The next image I shot was a lot more posed and I was looking a lot more on the shape of the body in the frame. I angled my subject away from the camera and got him to turn his head towards me, I shot above eye level and got him to raises head towards me. this gets rid of some shadows on the face and under the chin. I like the way this photo turned out, I like that although the skateboard is a part of the image its not such a big part and there is more emphasis on the subject and his clothes.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page