top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

studio shoot 1

My first trip to the studio I wanted to experiment using a white back drop as I felt this would be the most natural way to show off personality, as well as the clothes that my subjects were wearing. I used a two light set up to light these images, one which was my main light and the second to fill in the shadows. After looking at the images and sorting through them I have realised I need to use a third light to make the backdrop more white which will be my time for the next shoot using a white backdrop.


The first image I really like however after looking at the image I realised my key and fill light are the wrong way around making his face a lot darker then it should be. Despite that I really composition and the framing of the image, it shows my subject and what he does clearly. I like the shape his body and board in the frame and I feel it is nicely balanced.


The next image shows my subject giving the camera the middle finger, I tried a few different compositions for this as I liked how it plays on the old skateboarding stereotype of being rough, street kids. The light in this image is a lot better with a more even light across hiss face however due to having no background light you not only see the creases in the backdrop but its extremely grey. I think this image works better for my project than the previous due to showing more of my subjects clothes and personality however the skateboard isn't the most visible and you lose that splash of blue from the deck.


For the third image I decided to get my subject to sit on a stool, this allowed me to capture all of my subject in the frame, keeping the board and his clothes visible. I positioned my subject to face slightly way from the camera and the main light with his head turned towards the main light, I used my fill light to combat the shadows this produced and I think the exposure came out perfectly. I like the expression on my subjects face and the fact that he is doing something with his hands. I feel all of this adds to the interest and feel of the image.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page