top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

studio evaluation

Overall I am happy with the way my studio project came out, it taught me how to get in contact and arrange shoots with different people as well as built my confidence in arranging shoots, posing people, and setting up the lights. This project also taught me how I can improvise when plans don't work out the way I had expected.


For my environmental portraits I looked at graffiti/ street art in cheltenham. I photographed Andy Davies, the director of the cheltenham paint festival and a local artist as my subjects, I used a mix of natural light and flash for these images and am pleased with the look and feel of both lighting techniques. I learnt how to place my subject in the natural light to best light their face and body, I also practiced using direct flash and balancing the exposure with the background. if I was to do this project again I would plan my shoots better and more in advance to avoid missing a sec and shoot with Andy, I would also experiment using off camera flash to add a different look and feel to my images.


For my studio project I explored skate fashion, I took pictures of a local skateboarder and a skateboarder I know from back home for this project. I learnt how to use the lights and how that affected the look, feel, and exposure of the image as well as what the different lights could be used for. I also learnt how to pose my subject and how to communicate my ideas in the studio with them. I learnt how to control the lights to achieve the look I wanted, no harsh shadows and a highlight behind the head. If I was to shoot this project again, I would like to find subjects who wear more jewellery and have tattoos to better fit my theme, I would also improve ,y images with the white background as I feel my exposures aren't as nice as I would like.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page