top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

shutter speed and aperture

For the first image I used a fast shutter speed(1/250) to freeze the movement of the skater going past me, another reason I used a fast shutter speed was to make sure I didn't blow out any of the highlights caused by the setting sun.


The second image was taken with a shutter speed of 1/15th of a second and as the skater went by I panned the camera, keeping my focus point on the skater creating motion blur in the background but keeping the skate relatively sharp.


For the third image I shot with my lens wide open at f2 to create an extremely shallow depth of field, I used this to make the background go soft and out of focus so your attention was drawn to the trucks of the skateboard and the sticker on it.


And for the final photo I made sure everything was in focus by using a small aperture(f/11) so that you can see the detail in the back and see clearly where the photos were taken. This photo sets the scene/ gives it context


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page