top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

shoot 2 - Honeybourne tunnels

I went on a shoot with Eve underneath the Honeybourne tunnels as I was drawn to the graffiti on the walls. My initial idea for going on this shoot was to replicate an image taken by J. Grant Brittain (below).


I think my replication turned out well and I feel it is clear that my inspiration for the image was J. Grant Brittain photo. The original photo shows Rodney Mullen doing a trick in a shipping container, the image is lit from the back creating a silhouette of him in the middle of the frame. The image was taken with a fisheye lens and a middle aperture around f/5.6. My image shows eve stood in the middle of a tunnel with her skateboard at a slight angle, I used a fisheye just like in the original and lit the image from behind to create a silhouette. I used a flash to light this image which helped create the silhouette as well as gave a nice 'halo' to the edges of Eves body making her stand out a bit more.


Below are all the worthy images from this shoot, I used a flash for all of these to achieve a high contrast and glossy look to the photos. I shot at 24mm for most of the images in an attempt to distance myself form another total fisheye project about skateboarding. I really liked the images shot lower down looking at the legs of Eve as she practices and gets more comfortable skating around. I think that these photos will be included in my final cut as they break the project up and adds more variation compared to thew standard pic of someone skating.


I took a few portraits whilst I was here because of the interesting background, I also added to my faceless skaters series which is slowly building up in the background. I used a flash to make the faces and skateboard bright and paired it with a slower shutter speed and larger aperture so the you could still see some of the graffiti, faintly, in the background.


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page