top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Michael at the skatepark (close to home 2)

I returned to Pitville skatepark after getting in contact with the rider I photographed before, my intention was to retake some of the previous images as well as get some portraits so that my story had a more personal feel. I decided to shoot these in black and white ad I really liked the way the photographers I researched shot there's in black and white with bright sunlight.


In order to tell a story I wanted to capture a variety of shots, the first image shows the rider doing a manual, I shot this with a wide-angle lens and used flash to fill in the shadows and make the image more punchy. I got him to do this behind the ramp so that I could use the fence and side of the ramp as leading lines drawing your eye to the rider, I also like the way the graffiti looks own the ramp.


The next image is a portrait in the the same location I used for the manual, I kept the location the same so that there was continuity through these two images. I shot this image again with a wide angle lens and fill in flash as I was shooting into the sun. I used the same ramp as a leading line as well as to add interest with the graffiti. I positioned him with his body facing away from the camera and his head turned 45degrees looking into the camera.


The next image is an action shot, I used a fisheye for this shot and used the natural light to expose this with, I wanted to frame the image in a way you could tell where he was coming from and where he was going to land so I shot from the landing side off the ramp and looked back toward the launch ramp.


The next shot is a filler shot, it adds to the story without providing much information its own. I like the way this shot came out and it shows the local rider looking off into the park with his helmet on. I decided to shoot through the fence to add depth and interest into the image. I shot with the lens wide open to blur the fence in the foreground.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page