top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

lloyds shoot 2 (street 4)

Due to this location being my favourite and also very visually interesting I decided to return for ,y final shoot to capture a few more portraits and a few more action shots of the local skaters there. I also thought I needed a wider shot of the whole location to tie into the story better so that was another reason for my return.


The first image is the wide shot of the entire location I wanted to get, I like that it shows that not only is this used by skaters but also used by many other people. I like that it shows how accepting the people of Bristol are too things like skateboarding compared to other places. I like the light in the image and how the sun flares over the top of the amphitheater as well as the people walking through the frame. the colour and tone is nice in this image and I feel works well to add to my story. It provides a lot of context to the place as well as shows a side of it people may not associate with good places to skate. I shot this using a wide angle lens, 24mm and shot with an aperture around 5.6 to ensure sharpness. I exposed for somewhere in the middle of the sky and the foreground, leaving the majority of the sky exposed with the flare overexposing it, I like the effect this creates.


The next photo is a shot of two of the local skaters sat next to each other on the large steps. I took a step back to show more of the ledge and building behind them, I also shot using a wide-angle lens to get the most I could in the frame. I took the image head on around eye level to create a natural looking portrait and took this with an aperture around f5.6 to make sure that it was sharp. I like the contrast between the vertical and horizontal lines present in the frame as well as the tones, I think this adds to the portrait making it seem happy and friendly. I shot two angles of them both sat together as I wanted to minimise the negative space between them in the first one, I like this other composition however I should have gotten a closer due to being further away from them.


The fourth image along shows one of the two people doing a trick off the ledge whilst the other watches, I like the story this tells as a single image as well as how perfectly it fits into the larger street brief. I took this with a wide angle, 24mm lens to capture the whole scene. I shot again with a standard aperture of f/5.6 to ensure sharpness whilst maintaining the depth of field I wanted. the steps work as strong leading lines drawing the viewers attention to both skaters.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page