top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

lloyds shoot 1 (street 3)

For my next shoot in Bristol I visited an extremely famous street spot which is the lloyds amphitheater. This has been a heavily skated Bristol location for many years and is where a lot of my project will take place due to the history behind it. My purpose for the shoot was to get some street portraits and some action shots of the skaters there. I decided to shoot using a fisheye lens for this shoot to make a note to the photo history side of skateboarding as the fisheye is the most used lens when it comes to skate photography.


The first two images are the portraits I captured there, I like how each person is doing something different, they were not posed so the images are natural and the real life reactions of these people to my request. I like that the fisheye allowed me to get nice and close and fill the frame with my subjects. I really like the tones in the location. I shot with an ultra wide angle lens and shot with and aperture around f/5.6. for both images I shot at a forty five degree angle to my subjects as this makes for a flattering portrait. The background adds to the context as it is distinguishably the lloyds stairs and amphitheater behind.


The third image shows one of the local skaters doing a nose manual on the famous steps there, I really like the shape the person makes in the frame as well as the tone, the image was taken on an ultra wide angle lens with an aperture around f/5.6, this ensures my images are nice and sharp and i can still shoot with a faster shutter speed. The image has a lot of nice contrast, this is because I exposed for the sky and he was wearing dark clothes, I really like the look this gives to the overall image. You can see the lloyds amphitheater in the background as well as the steps in the foreground adding in to the context of where this is happening. These large features also make for great leading lines and visual flow through the image.


For the third image I got one of the local skaters to do a tail slide, I thought the this would make for an interesting composition as I could shoot parallel to the skateboard and create and interesting looking composition. Again I shot using an ultra wide angle lens to capture the entire scene and to play into to the roots of skate photography. I shot with a mid to wide aperture of f/5.6 to ensure the image was sharp and also made sure my shutter speed didn't drop too much. The image appears a lot different to the previous even though they were taken very close together due to the direction of the lens, I like this view of the amphitheater as it emphasises the size of it, this is because I shot low down looking up, also making the skater appear larger in the frame.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page