top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

environmental portrait shoot 2

for my second environmental portrait shoot I decided to go out with a local artist due to struggling to find time and getting a reply from Andy, my previous subject. My intention for this shoot was to use flash to make the exposure a bit nicer, and a bit more punchy. I used direct flash in manual mode to expose these and I am happy with the way they turned out.


The first image is a half body shot of my subject in front of a popular painting spot, I used manual direct flash to expose this and used a small aperture in order to create separation between my subject and the background. I positioned by subjects body to face away from the camera with his head turned looking in, I also got him to fold his arms so that they stayed in the frame and didn't get chopped off.


The next image I took shows my subject squatted down looking up at the wall, this is a side profile view that I again used flash and aperture control to create the separation between him and the background. I like this image as it is a lot less 'portrait' and more lifestyle. I wanted to include more candid portraits in this project as well to explore the way people pose themselves and hold themselves when in front of a camera.


The next shot was a more playful, fun pose. I wanted to improve on a photo I tried to capture in the previous shoot of someone spraying a can of spray paint in the air. With the flash the colour in the spray came out nice and clear. Although the idea worked well I don't think compositionally this image is the best. I shot 3/4 of the body to keep the hands in but I feel this makes it an awkward crop on his legs.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page