top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

environmental portrait shoot 1

For the environmental portrait section of my studio brief I decided to get in touch with Andy Davies a local artist and organiser of the Cheltenham paint festival. I joined him and fellow local artist Curtis Hylton whilst they painted a wall in cheltenham for the kingfisher trail. I captured a selection of posed portraits and portraits of them as they're painting. My intention was to use flash for this shoot however due to this particular piece being filmed I could not use the flash.


The first image shows Andy and Curtis talking about the piece, mid way through the process of painting it. I liked the background they are against as well as the light hitting their faces however this would've been improved with flash. My composition was simple its a straight on photograph taken around eye level. I like the interaction between them in the image as its clear they are discussing and thinking about something.


The next photograph I took was a portrait of Andy in the sun, I got the piece they were working on as well as Curtis in the background which I think adds a nice story telling element to the portrait. I positioned him in the sun so that he stood out a bit more from the dark background, I also like how soft the light is on his face despite being pretty much direct sunlight at the time. I think my framing works well to draw your eye to the background after initially looking at the portrait due to the leading lines of the bridge behind.


The third image shows Curtis up a ladder working on the piece, I like this image as I find the respirator that he is wearing extremely interesting compared to Andy who wasn't wearing anything. I also like the fact that it is whilst he is doing something as I find the kinds of portraits considerably more interesting to look at.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page