top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

documentary portrait - addressing the viewer

The first part of the task was to look at different compositions for shooting a portrait, they were a head shot, a 1/2 body shot, a 3/4 body shot and a full body shot. I liked the 1/2 body and the 3/4 body shots the most out of these four compositions.

For the next part of the task I looked at body positioning in front of the lens. I tried an image with the subject positioned head on, side on, looking over a shoulder, and at a 45degree angle. for each image I got the subject to look into/toward the camera. I think think that the most effective images were the side on and over the shoulder profile.

After learning about body positioning and composition in the previous shoot, I shot the next part of the task of someone doing something. I found that shooting at a 45degree angle worked well, I also tried shooting from different heights and liked the lower down angle like in the first image.

next I looked at shooting something inside a space and a small space, to make the first image more interesting I got my subject to sit on top of the ticket machine and for the second image I got him to lie on top of a skateboard and pretend to swim out of the space under the stairs to try and make the image more engaging.

We also had to look at and use aperture control to control the amount of background information. In the first image I shot with my lens wide open at f4 to try and make the background less distracting, I made the two more prominent in the photo so the viewer can still tell that you are in a carpark. For the next two photos I shot with my lens stopped down to f/7.1 so that you could see and describe the subjects surrounding.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page