top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Documentary Perspectives Project Proposal

For my documentary perspectives project I will be looking into the process of somebody learning how to skate and how starting this hobby is fun, exciting and leads to so many great friendships. I aim to show people the hardship of learning a sport like skateboarding as well as the perseverance that comes with that.


My project will be mainly on location and shot with flash however I will experiment with some studio work and using alternative lighting to on camera flash. I will be shooting this project in black and white and have lots of contrast.


The inspiration for this project comes from my own personal love for the sport as well as Ed Templetons project "adventures in the nearby faraway". Although Templetons project isn't about skateboarding I love the way its shot and like how he tells the story of this trip using photos of people, scenery, and smaller details. I would like my project to read like a sort of diary of learning to skate by using the same techniques as Templeton.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page