top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 8

For shoot number eight I wanted to visit a location I had previously shot from the opposite side. I wanted to return here as I really liked the lights on the building as well as all the detail on the building. I found it quite challenging getting the best exposure as I was shooting directly into the light and everything else was dark, I think that these exposures worked the best.


I really like the first image, I used the fence in front of the house to break up the frame and draw your eye up through the image. I also like how this introduced horizontal and vertical lines into the frame which match with the lines of the building. Another reason I think that this photo works is that your eyes are drawn to three main 'bodies' in the frame.


I took the next photo because I really liked the way that the light from the buildings lit up the path and added nice highlights on the benches. I used the path and benches to create a leading line, drawing your eye to the buildings in the back. I positioned the camera so that you could see the most reflected light on the bench whilst still getting the "s" curve in the path.


For the next image I was less focussed on the buildings and more on the contrast between nature and something man made. I noticed how round and natural the tree was in comparison to the big square buildings behind. I like the way the tree breaks up the frame and also fills in the negative space between the two buildings.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page