top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 7

On the seventh shoot I decided to visit a back street near Pittville. I wanted to shoot here because I like how it was a small street yet they had put LED streetlights down it, I like the light this produces ands hoped it would look good in the photos. I also really liked all the different garage doors that were dotted down the road.


The first image I was looking at the repetition of the garage doors as well as the different tones apparent within the photo. I like how the light on the right and left of the frame draws your eye across and draws attention to each of the garage doors. I shot this on a tripod with a relatively slow shutter speed. I like the detail in this image as well as all the different light that is spilling in from outside the scene, this also creates some interesting shadows in the photo.


The next photo I liked for a few reasons, I like that you can see the source of light, I like the reflection in the wet road as well as the puddles dotted around. I like that you can see that the light is coming from a street light as it gives the viewer a better understanding of the scene, I shot with a smaller aperture so that I created a slight 'sun' star. The wet road and the puddles help add more interest to the photo and gets rid of some of the negative space that goes through the photo.


The third photo has more of a focus point than the previous two, I saw a lost cat poster duct taped to a power line down the street. I thought this was interesting as it the cat could be in any of the garages down that road.I like how you see the poster and then immediately see possible hiding spots this cat could be in. I like the way that the pylon breaks up the frame andante breaks up that space in-between the last 2 garage doors.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page