top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 6

For this shoot I wanted to explore taking a series of images that could work together to tell a sort of story. I looked at different shot types to look deeper into a topic, and to give the viewer a better understanding of my topic. I think that this shoot came out well and that I was successful in creating a story.


The first image is my wide/ opening shot, this photo sets the scene and shows the viewer wear this all takes place. I think that this image works well for that as you can clearly see what my story is about and where it takes place. I used a slower shutter speed to create slight motion blur on my subject to show that he is moving fast through the frame, I also waited until he went under the light to take the photo in order to get light him the best in the dark carpark.


The next photo introduces my subject to the audience, I decided to shoot a full body portrait, angled 45degrees from my subject. I did this to show the viewer the way that the skateboarding is resting underneath his foot. I also shot from this angle as it is a flattering angle, it elongates the next and slims the body. I shot above my subjects eye level as there was a lot of mess and random lights in the background, however after trying it I also preferred the way it rendered the shape and lines in the image.


The third and fourth photos come as a pair and I used these to show the detail in the skateboard, I decided to use the flash to make the blue in the jeans and the orange of the skateboard pop and I feel that has worked well. I am happy with the composition as the images are balanced and feel natural when I look at them.


The last image is another detail shot to show the viewer a sign that there has been skateboarding going on, I intended this photo to represent activity and movement without taking a 'standard' action shot. I think that this is interesting because it makes the viewer interested in seeing how the marks were made. If I were to continue/ revisit this series I would get a photo of the marks being made.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page