top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 3

The third day of my 30day project was shot in the period after the sun had set but before it was completely dark and under artificial light, you see as the photo progress the sky gets darker and the tones the images change slightly. I went on this shoot to explore deeper into shooting in artificial light.


Although there are nice colours in the sky on the first two images, I don't think that these are the best compositionally. The first image has too much going on with too many random trees and lines going up the frame. The second image is slightly better with less mess in the middle, the colour in the sky is more visible and the initial tree that you see pops a lot more.


The fourth photo is the first image I really like from this shoot, I like how the trees are mostly dark with highlights coming from the big light in the carpark to the right. I also like how the front two trees frame the three trees in the back and help to draw your eye through the image.


For the fifth image I looked at having even less trees in the photo, and remembering the rule of three I framed up three trees that made interesting lines next to the metal fence. The trees are in a triangle and create that shape in the image which is also visible in the shadow created by these trees. Another thing I like about this image is the contrast between nature and something manmade, like the fence.


In the last image I wanted to make that nature/ manmade contrast more apparent so shot the same three trees from a different angle to make the fence a lot more apparent in the frame. I think that this worked well and is an improvement from the previous image. I also like how this image has a lot more contrast in it; I framed this so that it got rid of the lights from the road in the background as I felt that they were distracting.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page