top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 28

I decided to go on another night time shoot, this time to look at artificial light. However I didn't realise that he lights on the toilets got turned off so I didn't quite get the images id imagined but I am happy with the results. It was a challenge shooting backlit subjects at night however I worked around it.


The first image I took I decided to blow out the highlights in order to save detail in the shadows, I really like the look this gave with the street lights behind giving it a soft, fairytale like feel. The composition is simple I just set the camera up on a tripod and shot head on.


The next image is very similar to the first image, except I used the trees to frame the building as well as break up the frame. I like the contrast in directional lines as the trees are vertical and the building is very horizontal. I prefer this compositionally however it made the image a lot darker and there are a lot more shadows.


The last two images were close ups of the windows, what drew me to these was the fact that they were different windows as well as one being cracked. I framed these in a way that pulls your eye from left to right I exposed one for the shadows and one for the highlights. The image exposed for the highlights is considerably closer as I didn't feel the need to include a load of dark space as there was no detail compared to the lighter image that space.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page