top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 26

I wanted to look more at colour in natural light and how you can use the sun to enhance the saturation of colours, I decided to use a red hammock as I thought the sun would catch nicely and make the colour pop. Due to needing trees the light was dappled through the leaves created an interesting look however was more difficult to get the correct exposure.


In the first image you see my friend sitting the hammock, it was taken about 3 meters away with a 35mm equivalent lens. I was looking at the combination of orange, blues, and greens as I like the way these worked together to colour the image. I also like how much the orange pops against the softer blues and green in the background. I centred my subject as I liked the shape the hammock made in the frame as well as making the image easy to read.


The next image is a much tighter shot, I came in close and got down lower to fill the frame with the nice orange/red light shining through the hammock. I used the shape of my friend sitting in the hammock to act as a line going diagonally through the image which helps maintain a balanced image. I also like that the viewer is able to tell that this is the following shot from the previous image and I like being able to see different parts of a wider image, this gives the viewer a better interpretation of what was going on.


The third photo is another close in shot, this time I wasn't looking at the bright orange of the hammock but the light blues, greens, and browns in the background contrasted against the dark tree and hammock strap. I like the contrast in the colours but also in the vertical and diagonal lines. I framed the image so that strap was going diagonally across the frame with the vertical trees in the background as well as to the right of the frame.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page