top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 25

This was another shoot I went on that was taking advantage of the sun, I shot over golden hour again as I loved the way the images looked in the soft evening light. Inspired by Richard Sandler image of the shadows I have been playing around with them some more as well.


The first image I made use of a pocket of light that was coming in through the side of the car park. For the image I got my friend to skate through the pool of light towards me, this was to get his shadow going down the frame. I framed it so that the light acts as a leading line from the bottom right corner to the centre where my subject is. as my focus was on the light and shadow I decided to expose for the highlights to intensify the shadows and create a very contrasty image.


The next image is almost the reverse of the previous one, id decided to blow out the highlights to bring more detail into my subject. I still wanted to play with the shadows so stepped back in order to capture a larger portion of the extremely elongated shadow. I took the image just as he was turning as I liked the way his arms went to the side and his body lent the other way.


The third image is exposed correctly without blowing out or overly darkening any of the highlights or shadows. I took this image as I liked the shadow on the wall in front of my subject and how you could see in the shadow what he was doing. I also like to include what creates the shadow to add more detail and interest into the frame. To get a more balanced exposure I shot away from the light which lit my scene with a lovely orange glow which I compliments the blue sky and the green floor.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page