top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 22

On this shoot I was looking at using artificial light, both the lights already at the carpark and a bit of flash. I found when shooting these images that the flash built in to my camera wasn't the most powerful and I had to get quite close to see any effect from it.


The first image shows a closeup shot of somebody doing a pop shuvit. you see the board lifted off the ground and starting to rotate around. I used the flash to not only get extra light for a faster shutter speed but to make the colours of the board pop. I think the colours work well in this image as the blue and orange work well together and are reflected in the shoes as well.


The next image is an environmental portrait, I used the light on the wall above my subject to light this and shot quite far back so that the viewer can see clearly where this was taken. I used the car parking lines as leading lines towards my subject and included the horizontal line to creat a 'box' around him.


The third image is another closeup, it shows my subject sitting down on his skateboard, his legs are out in front of him creating an 'A' shape in the centre of the frame. I was positioned next to him shooting at around 45degrees to my subject and I did this to try hide the other leg to make the 'A' shape more prominent.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page