top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 20

On this shoot I was looking at light, I decided to start shooting during the hour or so before sunset to get that nice golden light. I think the images came out well however I wish I had used a flash to balance the exposure as the scene was extremely contrasted. I used a combination of portraits, action shots and landscapes to tell the story of Adrian at this pump track.


What caught my attention with the first image was the directional light coming in from the left of the frame, I likes the way this lit the ground as well as the highlight on the left side of the body. because the light was coming from the left I framed my subject slightly right of the centre with the front wheel just touching the mid point. I exposed partially for the shadows however I liked the colour in the sky so decided against exposing completely for the darker parts of the image this also allows the viewer to see how low the sun is in the sky as you can see the bright part in the sky in the top left corner of the frame.


For the next image I moved in closer to Adrian and this time decided to shoot towards the sun. To combat the overpowering light of the sun I lifted the camera up high and angled it down, doing this I got rid of the sky entirely making sure that there were no super duper bright parts of the image. This also made the image a lot softer and more golden which reflected the summery, relaxed feeling of the afternoon.


The third image shows Adrian doing a manual over the bumps, he is framed to the left with the sun shining bright behind and slightly to the right of him. There was such a contrast in light I decided to blow out the sky basically completely and even with this the foreground is still quite however I really like the way the image turned out. I like the highlight on the landing jump and I think it helps pull your eye to my subject which is necessary in this image due to it not being the brightest part of the image.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page