top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 2

On the second day of my 30 day challenge I took my camera and flash on a skate with my friend Ethan, I wanted to shoot some portraits using both flash and natural light. I also went out with the intention of adding to my series of portraits of skateboarders covering their faces with their boards.


The first image was the image I had in mind when I decided to go on this shoot I wanted to add to my ongoing series of faceless portraits. I really like this image as it very colourful, i Iike the way the red, green and black look together as well as the way that the orange skateboard compliments the blue jumper he is wearing. I used a flash to balance the exposure with the background exposure however due to the reflectiveness of the skateboard I had trouble finding the right balance.


The next 'portrait' was bit more experimental, I was looking at the shape/ positioning of the body rather than a standard portrait. I got my friend to jump iff a railing and attempt to spin his body somehow. I am pleased with how this came out as I like the shape the body the makes in the frame as well as the slight motion blur.


The third portrait I took was a more traditional photo and really I only took it so that I get more comfortable shooting flash without having to trial and error it. I am happy with how the image came out, I like the angle of the image and I like how his body fills the frame, specifically the position of the legs and how they extend to both corners of the frame. I also like the colour contrast of the black, blue, green, and yellow. This was down to using the flash as well.


The last image was the final portrait I took on this shoot, and was the only portrait that I didn't use flash. I like the natural soft light being produce from the sun being diffused by the clouds, as well as the overall tones of the image. This is a very cold image but I think it works as the light greys and blacks compliment the pop of blue you get from his jumper.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page