top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 19

On this day I decided to revisit one of my favourite locations in cheltenham, the abandoned trains. My inspiration for this shoot was looking through Stewart Franklins book 'analogies', the book looks at making small unrelated connections with the world around us whatever that may be. It is a collection of multiple people images and they are all black and white and have lots of texture in them.


What drew me to the first image was the triangle shape that the bent bit of metal makes in the frame. I decided to frame this in the centre and slightly blow out the background to create the separation between the metal and the plants behind it and because the light is coming from the back, the side of metal i'm looking at is nice and dark as it is in shadow. This added a lot of contrast in that otherwise would've been lost by blowing out the sky and highlights.


I like this image because of the directional lines that take you back through the frame, I also like how you see a lot of textures in the image like smooth metal, ripped plastic, as well as a lot of messy foliage. I decided to frame the sandbags in the centre of the frame as they were my intended focal point, I made sure that the bottom of the frame was filled with the sandbags. I achieved this by shooting with a wide angle lens pointing about 45degrees toward the ground, this ensured that the bottom of the frame was filled yet you can still see the entire scene because of the wide-angle lens.


For the third image I looked at how different things can produce similar textures, the picture shows moss covered rocks along the bottom of the frame, with bits of metal sticking vertically out the ground, one on theft and one in the centre. It is overgrown with brambles which cover most of the frame. what I like about this image is that the longer you at it the more things you notice, I feel this is synonymous with the image as once the metal and stone would've been clear and new yet slowly has become overgrown.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page