top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 15

For this shoot I took a trip to the skatepark in Whaddon, my original plan for this shoot was to take photos of the skatepark itself, looking at the unique lines and graffiti that you often find at skateparks however when I arrived it was full of skateboards so I decided I would photograph them. I am extremely happy with how these images came out.


The first image is a close up photo of a 5-0 grind on a mini ramp, you see the line of the coping leading your eye to the board and legs of the skateboarder. I like how the legs continue the line from the bottom to the top of the page, this breaks the frame up and makes it more visually interesting to look at. I also like that shooting so close to his legs makes the image a lot more detailed than the photos that show his whole body on top of the coping. I like the broad range of tones in this image is due to the bright light and all the spray paint, the contrast helps to separate the darker tones of the subject from the lighter background.


The second image is a group photo of three of the people that were there, they are on top of the ramp looking toward the camera. The person in the centre is sat down with the two others stood up either side, the person on the left is throwing his hands up. I like this image because its nicely balanced and has interesting people in it. I like that the coping acts as a leading line that takes your eye from the bottom right corner of the frame across the image past all three of the people, I like how you can clearly see the skateboards and the energy of the session.


The third photo is almost the reverse of the second image, you see three shadows being made behind the ramp with one of the persons bodies, partially on the left of the frame. This image was inspired by the Richard Sandler image I looked at in the study I did of his work. The inclusion of the person on the left breaks up the frame and draws your eye to the three shadows, the shadow of the ramp also helps pull your attention through the image starting from the bottom right corner.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page