top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

day 11

I went on a walk up Leckhampton hill on a dark, overcast afternoon and decided to try and shoot a kind of story whilst I went about the walk. I am happy with how these photos came out although I think that if I had used a flash the images would've been a lot better.


To try and create a narrative I shot a mixture of small details, portraits, and wider shots. To start with I found an old rope swing with colourful ribbon tied to it which made for an interesting photo that plays on youthfulness and childhood. I also thought it was interesting as parks have been closed due to covid19 people are exploring and playing in nature more.


Next I used a portrait to introduce my subject to the viewer I liked how she is looking to the right of the frame and because of this I put the photo of small den made of sticks as it reads like she has just discovered this in the woodland. I like how these images work together as a pair although being completely visually different.


I followed up with two more portraits that show my subject doing something in a sequence, from standing up on the log to falling off. I like how this ties into the theme of childhood and playfulness as with the current pandemic everything seems so serious all the time and I want to show the viewer that you can make the best out of any situation.


The next thing I came across was the ruins of the old lime kilns. to show this I shot a series of three images getting closer, I started with a wide photo that shows the whole scene including the information board, which I used to create a line through the middle of the frame drawing your eye to the ruins in the background. Next I went a bit closer to show the viewer what it was they were looking at in the previous image, you get to see a to more detail in the image and I like the tones that are in it as well. I then show a close up photo of a caution sign, you can clearly see the ruins in the background and that is in the same place. I don't think it necessarily adds anything to the story but it helps add a bit more detail to paint a better picture of the location in the viewers head.


My two favourite images from this set are the portraits taken on the swing, the next photos along after the ones I previously spoke on. I really like that you see the scene as a whole before moving in closer to the tree, I think the extra detail by getting close to the tree and rope adds to that temporary, childhood fun theme I wanted to include. I also really like the colours in both of these and in the second one I like how she is looking away from the camera.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page