top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

pitville skatepark (close to home 1)

My close to home project is based around the skatepark and BMX, for this shoot I went to Pitville skatepark to test possible compositions and find a subject/ person for the project. I decided to bring two lenses, an ultra wide angle, fisheye lens as well as a more standard, 40mm prime.


Whilst I was here I approached a local rider and student who uses the park and grabbed some photos of hi, riding around to further test compositions and get a feel for how to photograph people moving fast on a bike.


The first three shots are all action shots of the local rider, I am pleased with the way these turned out. I shot using the fisheye lens with an aperture of f/5.6, I shot from low down looking up to emphasise the trick and tried to get as close to the rider as possible. I would like to combine some portraits of this person next time I am there to further tell the story.


I also got some shots of the ramps around the park to test compositions for a future shoot, I used both lenses to get both a distorted and a 'true' look to the ramps. I was happy with how these came out however I found that although some compositions looked good without a rider when you introduced a person into it changed completely. I do think these images are useful to show the viewer the location, this would help the story read better.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page