top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Cleeve Hill - Photo Story

For my photo story project I looked at mountain biking in cheltenham, for my idea I decided to go on a day long trip up and around Cleeve Hill on the bikes with my friend Adrian. I wanted to tell the story of the day through a series of black and white images, including landscapes, details, and portraits. Im please with the way this came out and I think there's a clear story being told through the images.


The first image I a wide view of the hill, with Adrian silhouetted on the top of it. What drew me to this composition was the steeper section/ mound that Adrain is on top of, I liked the way this looked in the frame and I like that its higher than the horizon in the distance. This gives the feeling that the hill is giant and tells the story of making up this hill to the top. I shot using a 40mm lens mainly due to being small and compact and perfect for taking on a large cycle but also for that slightly wide yet intimate field of view. I stopped my lens down to allow less light in the frame due to being an extremely bright and sunny day, this also made sure that the image was sharp from front to back. I think that this image could work well as a title page due to having lots of negative space to include a title/any other text.


The next photo was taken on one of the first descent of the trip, I took this image just before Adrian set off down the hill and I like that you can see where he's looking and and focusing ready to get down the rocky hill. although being a bum shot I like how this adds to the story, you see the subject, the bike, and where he is going. it nicely shows direction and the landscape we are travelling. I used the same 40mm lens to take this photo and again stopped down my lens due to the bright sun and my want for everything to be sharp. Im pleased with how this image came out, I like that the path acts as visual leading line taking your eye through the frame but was also the path that led us around in real life as well.


The next photo shows Adrian looking down a narrow path being blocked by some cows, I thought that this photo was the perfect image to make the photo story a little bit more eventful/ add some humour into it. I overexposed this image so that there was light on Adrian, this shows the viewer more detail as well as allowing you to clearly see that Adrian and the cow are locking eyes. This image will definitely be included in my photo story due to being a moment of interest.

I shot with the lens slightly more open than the previous images however still stopped down a bit, this was to keep sharpness but allow more light to come in as were in the shade.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page