top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Cheltenham Trains 10/11/20

I decided to revisit the abandoned trains in Cheltenham at a slightly different time than before, my original plan was to head down there for dusk to capture some late evening and night time shots of the trains. But I noticed the light was nice outside so i went down earlier to catch the last light of the golden hour sun.


I found that despite the nice light I saw out my window the train tracks are in the middle of a small valley making it quite hard to expose correctly without blowing out sky as it was considerably brighter than where I was standing in the shade. For the photos taken after sunset, the last 4, I used a very long shutter speed and a tripod to keep the camera still. I was surprised at how much light the camera picked up.


I was pleased with how these images came out and I enjoyed shooting the same location with a different setup. I really like the second image of the puddle on top of the train carriage as I like the contrast between the naturalness, and calmness of the puddles and the sky with the coldness of the metal tracks and beams.


I also really like the image of the brambles spilling over the side of the train carriage. I like how the light is hitting on part of the train and making the graffiti shine as well as the line of carriages drawing your eye through the photo. I decided to fill the gap in the right corner as there weren't a lot of clouds that evening and I wanted to fill the space more. After, I took a close up of a bramble with the tracks behind it and I think that these two images work well as a pair.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page