top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Bristol Street 08/10/20

On Thursday I hopped on a train to Bristol to do some street photography, after my wander around cheltenham I realised that I really didn't like how pristine it was and was looking for somewhere that would give me a more rugged feel to my images and as Bristol is only a short train ride away it was my first choice. I'm not the most confident person when it comes to taking photos of randoms in the street but I am extremely happy with how these came out.


For a lot of these images I metered for the highlights so that I didn't lose any detail in them, I then used Lightroom to bring back some of the shadow details so that my shadows weren't completely black and void of detail.


Although I went out with the intention of taking street photos my favourite image from this set is the one of the Poundland inside 'the galleries' - a shopping centre in Bristol. There was beautiful green/blue light coming in from the skylights which went well with the green of the Poundland shop. I love how the square tiles and the shadows from the above window work together to create a more interesting photo than just cool light coming in from the ceiling.


I was also extremely happy with the black and white photo I got of the 2 men on the escalator. I watched and waited for them both to be in frame before taking the photo as I wanted the repetition of the 2 very similar looking men. I also love the geometry in the image as the escalators make interesting triangular shapes throughout the scene.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page