top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Andy Griffin - portraits (studio research)

Another photographer that I looked at in relation to my studio work is Andy Griffin, I have looked at his work due to the way he uses clothes and accessories to further tell the story of a person in a single image. This is a technique I will be using in my project to link the clothes to skateboards as well as create a better understanding of the subjects personality/character. I like how Griffin uses light in these images and the way that changes the image and plays to the character more.


The first image I looked at is a bit of an unusual composition, Griffin is behind the subject who is looking to the left of the frame at a red cricket ball he is holding out in front. I believe this was lit using two lights coming from either side of the man, I think this because of the highlights on the front and back of the mans body. I really like the way this looks, due to the man looking sideways and into the light the side profile of the mans face and expression are visible. He is holding out a red cricket ball with his arm bent at a forty-five degree angle, I like the story that him staring at this ball creates in my head. I also feel it mimics the way a bowler holds the ball before her bowls in a game of cricket. The whole image is in colour however the ball is the only pop of saturated colour adding a nice effect, id like to possibly try this in y work however due to being more clothes focussed I'm not sure how I will incorporate this.

The next image I looked at was an image of a chef, I really like how this image turned for a few reasons, firstly I like the contrast in the image. The subject is wearing his chefs whites which distinguishes him from a home cook and shows the viewer he is a professional as well as adding a nice range of tones in the image which I think is enhanced by the background being grey as oppose to black. The next reason I really like this image is down to the accessories he is holding, I like that I get a good representation of his character through the fact he's sharpening a knife, with a cig behind his ear, combined with the stern look on his face I get the feeling he is serious and good at his job. I will use the same combo of accessories and clothing to best show my subjects personality in my project. The man is stood at a forty-five degree angle to the camera with his head turned, and tilted towards the camera. He is facing the main light which is lighting his clothes and face nicely and the angle it is positioned lets the light get darker without losing too much detail in the image.


I chose to look at this next image for similar reasons to the previous, the image shows a soldier in a smart uniform, he has lots of medals on his jacket, white gloves and a sword. I think that these accessories/ items the man has tells you a lot more information about him. Griffin has posed the person looking up above the lens, this gives a sense that he's remembering all the time he has served and possibly thinking of the stories behind the medals. I aim to show the viewer a glimpse into my subjects lives through the clothes they wear and the skateboards they ride. This image was taken using a single light setup which creates nice shadows across the mans face and body drawing your eye to his face which is the brightest part of the image. I would like to also experiment using a single light set up in the way Andy Griffin has here.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page