top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

adrian in regent arcade carpark 02/12/20

After showing the previous shoot to the class and getting some feedback I decide to go on another shoot with Adrian, this time at regent arcade carpark as the light was better here. The aim of this was to get a few more photos for my covid project as well as to explore different ways of showing skateboarding in covid.


I'm very pleased with how these images came out, from the class feedback I wanted to look more at ways of showing the shoes which led me to think about the stretches people do when they warm up. I like the way the images of Adrain stretching came out as not only do they show off different parts of the shoes and clothes but it also creates more interesting shapes within the frame. I also tried a closeup of the shoes and to make this more interesting I used a small puddle to reflect the bottom of the shoe as well as placed the board behind so that the frame was more balanced.


I also wanted to show Adrian skating around but thought the last ones were slightly bare with not a lot going on in the frame. this time I put some obstacles in the way and got him to skate around them. I also wanted to show the lines on the carpark floor that the wheels front the skateboard makes and I think I achieved that. I like how the re and the yellow of the cone and barrier work together and how in some of the images the two obstacles and Adrain create an invisible triangle in the frame.


Next I wanted to play around with panning at a slow shutter speed. I put my flash into rear curtain sync mode and got Adrian to skate past the arrows around the carpark as I thought this would look interesting. whilst I was doing this I shot. few frames of Adrian about to throw the board down with a faster shutter speed and I'm pleased with how they came out as well, as his body is in unnatural positions as he's running and about to jump on the board.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page