top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Adrian in honeybourne tunnels 26/11/20

As part of my covid19 story project about skateboarding during the coronavirus period I went on a shoot with Adrian, a local skater who has started skating again because of the original lockdown. the point of this shoot was to test composition, as well as practice using manual flash.

I'm quite pleased with how these images came out and I think that they all work well as part of the covid project, and I believe I effectively used the flash to create nice exposures with little noise. one thing that I noticed in these images is that the light in the tunnel isn't as nice as the light I got from inside the carpark, this is likely due to the carpark having white walls and ceilings to reflect the light from the flash off.


I like the full body portraits of Adrian holding his skateboard because I find it interesting the way different people naturally go to hold their skateboards and I think that this shows that. also the corners of the tunnels and the lights act as leading lines within the frame drawing your eye onto the subject.


Another shot I was pleased with was the first image of Adrain turning through the frame, I like how his body position is leant forward as this shows movement and reminds me of what skateboarding grew from, surfing.


with the last two images I was trying to show a more detailed, closeup shot of the shoes as often you find skateboarders shoes are heavily worn. I think a shot like this is necessary in my project but I am unsure on the compositions of these ones.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page