top of page
  • Writer's pictureHenry Weekes

Interview Practice Video - doc filmmaking

As a part of my documentary filmmaking project I have been doing some interview practice looking at framing and body position. I explored the rule of thirds to frame the scene and positioned my housemate at an angle. I sat to the left of the camera and got my house mate to look at me when he was answering the question.


Making use of the rule of thirds is crucial for an off camera interview like this one, by getting the subject to look diagonally across, into the frame creates a natural and clear view of the subject as well as making the scene clear and easy to read by the viewer.


I filmed this interview in multiple parts and edited them together in adobe premier. For this interview I left a few seconds of silence before and after each clip to make editing easier and to ensure the video runs smooth. I made my subject aware of this to avoid any confusion.


next time I practice an interview I would like to shoot more closeup as I don't really like how part of the knee is visible. this would cut out the box imp he frame however I could always edit an extra shot of just the box/ bugs inside into the video after.





1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page